

## Society of Environmental Journalists

P. O. Box 2492, Jenkintown, PA 19046 Phone: (215) 884-8174 Fax: (215) 884-8175 Internet: sej@sej.org World Wide Web: http://www.sej.org Shipping address: 321 Old York Road, Suite 200, Jenkintown, PA 19046

**Board of Directors** 

President: Tim Wheeler The Baltimore Sun

Vice President, Program Committee Chair: Christy George Oregon Public Broadcasting

Vice President, Membership Committee Chair: Cheryl Hogue Chemical & Engineering News

Treasurer: Carolyn Whetzel BNA

Secretary: Dina Cappiello Houston Chronicle

Perry Beeman
The Des Moines Register

James Bruggers
The (Louisville) Courier-Journal

Jeff Burnside WTVJ NBC 6, Miami

Peter Fairley
Freelance Journalist

Don Hopey
Pittsburgh Post-Gazette

Robert McClure Seattle Post-Intelligencer

Mark Schleifstein *The Times Picayune* 

Peter Thomson Freelance Journalist

Representative for Academic Membership: Bill Kovarik Radford University

Representative for Associate Membership: Rebecca Daugherty Independent Journalist

Founding President
Jim Detjen
Michigan State University

SEJournal Editor Mike Mansur

Executive Director
Beth Parke

June 1, 2007

TO: Members of Senate Environment and Public Works Committee

**Dear Senator:** 

The Society of Environmental Journalists urges you to support the Toxic Right-to-Know Protection Act (S. 595), which we expect soon to be brought up for consideration by the Senate Environment and Public Works Committee. We hope you will vote to order the bill reported favorably without amendments to the full Senate and vote for passage there.

The bill would restore the all-important ability of the U.S. public to be fully informed about potentially dangerous chemical exposures they may face. It would restore the news media's ability to inform them of those risks. It would reverse or prevent changes made to the Toxics Release Inventory (TRI) by the Environmental Protection Agency, which in our view would deprive the public of information they have a right to know.

The Society of Environmental Journalists (SEJ) is the world's largest and oldest organization of individual working journalists covering environmental issues. Founded in 1990, SEJ consists of some 1,300 journalists, educators and students dedicated to improving the quality, accuracy and visibility of environmental reporting. Working through its First Amendment Task Force and WatchDog Program, SEJ addresses freedom of information, right-to-know, and other news gathering issues of concern to journalists reporting on environmental topics.

S 595, and its identical companion bill HR 1055, would reverse EPA's recent change to the rules for reporting thresholds under the TRI program. Although EPA has claimed the agency is trying to reduce the burden on small business, the changes it seeks would actually not accomplish that. Small businesses would have to do the same amount of work anyway, to determine whether they fall below the new reporting thresholds. Small businesses under ten full-time employees and certain industry sectors are already exempted from TRI reporting requirements.

Public disclosure of toxic releases has been proven for nearly two decades to be a powerful incentive for facilities to undertake voluntary, non-regulatory reductions in the amounts of toxic materials they handle or release.

A recent GAO assessment determined that EPA's rule changes will have a significant impact on information available to the public, including more than 3,500 facilities across the country that would no longer need to report their toxic releases. The GAO also found that EPA violated its own rulemaking procedures and noted several problems with EPA's analysis justifying the changes.



In making its changes, EPA ignored the overwhelming opposition expressed on the regulatory record by over 120,000 citizens, 113 government agencies, and officials representing 23 states -- not to mention a May 2006 vote by the House of Representatives.

Again, we urge you to vote for approval of S 595.

Sincerely,

Timothy Wheeler, President Society of Environmental Journalists

Justy Bwhile

Reporter and Editor The Baltimore Sun 21 Dutton Avenue Catonsville, MD 21228 Phone: (410) 715-2833

Fax: (410) 409-3469

## Members of Senate Environment and Public Works Committee

Senator Barbara Boxer

Senator Max Baucus

Senator Joe Lieberman

Senator Tom Carper

Senator Hillary Rodham Clinton

Senator Frank R. Lautenberg

Senator Benjamin L Cardin

Senator Bernard Sanders

Senator Amy Klobuchar

Senator Sheldon Whitehouse

Senator James M. Inhofe

Senator John Warner

Senator George V. Voinovich

Senator Johnny Isakson

Senator David Vitter

Senator Lamar Alexander

Senator Larry Craig

Senator Craig Thomas

Senator Christopher S Bond