SEJ Awards for Reporting on the Environment


SEJ Awards logo


The 2024 contest is closed.

Winners will be announced as soon as possible after judges' deliberations — likely September through November.





DEADLINE: June 17, 2024, 11:59 p.m. ET
Late deadline: July 1 (twice the price)

2024 RULES
Beat, Investigative, Explanatory, Feature categories
HOW TO ENTER: Book category
HOW TO ENTER: Student category


SEJ's 23rd annual Awards for Reporting on the Environment honor the best environmental journalism in 10 categories, bringing recognition to the stories that are among the most important on the planet. Prizes are $500 for first-place winners and $250 for second-place winners in all categories. Plus...

The Nina Mason Pulliam Award for the "best of the best" environmental reporting will award $10,000 to one entry selected from the first-place winners of SEJ's Awards for Reporting on the Environment. The prize also includes travel, registration and hotel expenses (up to $2,500) for the winner, or representatives of the winning team, to attend SEJ's annual conference.

All SEJ Awards first-place winners are automatically entered into the Nina Mason Pulliam Award. Read more about the Pulliam Award.
The Nina Mason Pulliam Award is sponsored by the Nina Mason Pulliam Charitable Trust.

See all the Pulliam winners.


SEJ Awards Committee

Cynthia Barnett, Freelance journalist and author, EJ instructor at the University of Florida
Dan Fagin, New York University
Breanna Rittman, WMBD-TV/WYZZ News
Parimal Rohit, CoStar News
ONE MORE TO BE ANNOUNCED (If you're interested in serving on the awards committee, contact

Ex Officio:
Tony Barboza, Editorial Writer, Los Angeles Times and SEJ Board Liaison to the Awards Committee
Chris Bruggers, Awards Director (



Past Award winners:

2023 | 2022 | 2021 | 2020 | 2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | 2003 | 2002

​Past Pulliam winners:

2023  |  2022  |  2021  |  2020  |  2019  |  2018

Thank you to our Awards judges and screeners over the years!